Czech government announces limitations on public gatherings and travel

Czech Republic

The Czech government has declared a 30-day emergency period to combat the further spread of the coronavirus (Covid-19) in the country. A number of new measures will come into force this Friday (13 March), in particular restrictions on travel and on social gatherings.

The new measures require pubs and restaurants to close from 8pm to 6am, while sport areas, wellness centres, swimming pools, galleries, and libraries have been ordered to close. A general ban on gatherings of more than 30 people has been introduced, which will not apply to meetings of constitutional bodies, public administration and courts, or to companies.


Border control with Germany and Austria will be reinstated from midnight on Friday, with crossings limited to 7 on the German and 4 on the Austrian border. Foreigners from 13 high-risk countries (China, South Korea, Iran, Italy, Spain, Austria , Germany, Switzerland, Sweden, Norway, The Netherlands, Belgium, UK, Denmark, and France) will be banned from entering the country, while Czechs will not be allowed to visit these countries, except for rescue workers and truck drivers. An exception will be made for Czechs working abroad.


The government has also stopped issuing Czech visas and accepting new visa applications, and no permits for a stay over 90 days will be issued.